Council

Professor Juliet Brodie, Joint Editor in Chief European Journal of Phycology
Natural History Museum Representative
Life Sciences Department
Diversity and Informatics Division
The Natural History Museum
Cromwell Road
London SW7 5BD
UK
Email: j.brodie@nhm.ac.uk

Dr Gary Caldwell, Ordinary Member (2014-2017)
School of Marine Science and Technology
Newcastle University
Ridley Building
Claremont Road
Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 7RU
UK
Tel: +44 (0)191 208 6660
Email: gary.caldwell@ncl.ac.uk

Mr Paul Cherry, Student Representative (2015-2017)
Northern Ireland Centre for Food and Health
Biomedical Sciences Research Institute
Ulster University, Coleraine Campus
Cromore Road, Coleraine, BT52 1SA
Northern Ireland
Tel: +44 791 402 9545
Email: student_rep@brphycsoc.org

Professor Geoffrey Codd, FEPS Representative on Council
Division of Molecular Microbiology
College of Life Sciences
University of Dundee
Dundee DD1 5EH
Scotland
Tel: +44 1382 381127
Email: g.a.codd@dundee.ac.uk

Dr Maeve Edwards, Treasurer (2013-2016)
Ryan Institute
Carna Research Station
National University of Ireland, Galway
Muigh Inis
Carna, Co. Galway
Ireland
Email: treasurer@brphycsoc.org

Dr Claire Gachon, Meetings Secretary (2015-2018)
Scottish Association for Marine Science
Department of Microbial and Molecular Biology
Culture Collection for Algae and Protozoa
Scottish Marine Institute
Oban
Argyll PA37 1QA
Scotland
Tel: +44 (0)1631 559 318
Email: claire.gachon@sams.ac.uk

Professor Michael Guiry, Webmaster
Source Code Development Ltd (t/a AlgaeBase)
33 Cruachan Park
Galway H91 YRW6
Ireland
Email: webmaster@brphycsoc.org

Professor Paul Hayes, FEMS Representative on Council
School of Biological Sciences
St. Michael's Building,
White Swan Road,
Portsmouth, PO1 2DT
UK
T: +44(0)23 9284 3188
Email: paul.hayes@port.ac.uk

Dr Anne Jungblut, Ordinary Member (2014-2017)
Life Sciences Department
Diversity and Informatics Division
The Natural History Museum
Cromwell Road
London SW7 5BD
UK
Email: a.jungblut@nhm.ac.uk

Dr Martyn Kelly, Ordinary Member (2015-2018)
Bowburn Consultancy
11 Monteigne Drive
Bowburn
Durham DH6 5QB
UK
Tel: +44 (0) 191 377 2077
Email: MGKelly@bowburn-consultancy.co.uk

Dr Jan Krokowski, Editor of The Phycologist
Scottish Environment Protection Agency
Angus Smith Building
Science and Strategy, Ecology
6 Parklands Avenue
Eurocentral
Holytown
North Lanarkshire ML1 4WQ
Scotland
Email: jan.krokowski@sepa.org.uk

Professor Christine Maggs, Immediate Past President 2015-2017
Joint Editor in Chief European Journal of Phycology
Faculty of Science & Technology
Bournemouth University
Poole House
Talbot Campus
Fern Barrow
Poole BH12 5BB
UK
Tel: +44 (0)28 9097 2265
Email: c.maggs@qub.ac.uk

Dr Gill Malin, President (2015-2017)
Centre for Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
School of Environmental Sciences
University of East Anglia
Norwich NR4 7TJ
UK
Tel: +44 (0)1603 592531
Email: g.malin@uea.ac.uk

Dr Rupert Perkins, Ordinary Member (2015-2018)
School of Earth and Ocean Sciences
Cardiff University
Main Building
Park Place
Cardiff CF10 3AT
Wales
Tel: +44 (0)2920 875026
Email: PerkinsR@cardiff.ac.uk

Dr Jane Pottas, Secretary
Union Place
9 Upgang Lane
Whitby
North Yorkshire YO21 3DT
UK
Tel: +44 (0)1947 605501
Email: secretary@brphycsoc.org

Professor Saul Purton, Ordinary Member (2014-2017)
Darwin Building
Institute of Structural and Molecular Biology
University College London
London WC1E 6BT
UK
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 2675
Email: s.purton@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Hilary Redden, Membership Secretary (2016-2018)
Durham University
Department of Chemistry/Earth Sciences
South Road
Durham DH1 3LE
UK
Tel: +44 (0) 191 334 2092/1712
Email: hilary.redden@durham.ac.uk

Professor Dr Koen Sabbe, Overseas Vice President (2015-2017)
Ghent University,
Department of Biology, Research Group Protistology and Aquatic Ecology
Krijgslaan 281/S8
9000 Gent
Belgium 
Tel: +32 9 264 85 11
Email: Koen.Sabbe@UGent.be

Professor Graham J.C. Underwood, President Elect (2015-2017)
Faculty of Science and Health
School of Biological Sciences
University of Essex
Wivenhoe Park
Colchester
CO4 3SQ
UK
Tel: +44 (0) 1206 873337
Email: gjcu@essex.ac.uk